Feeling the backlash of the Toronto Star article.


My education has come into question a few times during job interviews and casual conversation before but never like after the Toronto Star article.


In the past I have had people at social gatherings inquire what I do for a living and when I reply proudly that I am a PSW, I usually get some weird looks like what the heck is that. I would then go on to explain what it is in fact I do and I would get the questions about my education and where I had gone to school, all and all a very positive conversation.




I have also been questioned during job interviews. The perspective employer has just wanted to know if I have received my certificate or not. They have never been too concerned on where I went to school. That has all changed now.



The most recent question period came from my husband’s holiday party. Instead of the usual chat between friends it was almost like I should have brought my resume and my school transcripts.  Some people were very supportive about the fact that I did not go to a community college to get my certificate, others were appalled that I am still allowed to work with seniors because I went to an unrecognized school. My course was and still is offered by the Waterloo Catholic Board of Education.





Shortly after the article came out my Facebook inbox was bombarded with questions. My own mother called me in a panic wondering if I had gone to one of these “shady” schools. I have been asked by my personal clients to provide my certificate as proof of my education. I also have a letter written on Waterloo Catholic Board of Education indicating that I have indeed passed my course. This information has put all my clients at ease. While applying for jobs and during interviews I am finding that they (the employer) are asking more questions about the length and quality of my course.





I don’t mind that the questions are being asked. I love the fact that we as an integral part of the healthcare community are finally being recognized as the educated professionals we are. What I do take offense to is the other “professionals” within the healthcare community doubting the fact we are needed, and doubting our abilities. I have found that there are some that this have given them fuel to try and suppress us, keep us down and hidden and the phrases “wanna be nurse” or “substandard nursing” has been used a few times.




I am glad the article has come out. There is no such thing as bad publicity. This has given us the chance to speak out publicly that we are a valuable member of both home based healthcare and facility healthcare, in turn we deserve to be recognized as such and I believe regulation is a huge step towards that goal.


~ Sent Anoyomously to PSW Canada(2007)

About Ontario Personal Support Worker Association (OPSWA)

The Ontario Personal Support Worker Association is the first ever Professional Association for PSWs across our Nation. OPSWA is run by PSWs FOR PSWs and public safety. We understand the difficulties PSWs deal with everyday OPSWA represents thousands of Personal Support Workers across Ontario. Our goal is to make the PSW a profession of choice, not just a stepping stone. As PSWs work with societies must vulnerable, we believe in due diligence where our membership is concerned, our PSWs must meet certain criteria in order to be an OPSWA Registered PSW. All of our PSWs have an annual National Police Check done at NO extra cost to them, plus so much more! Because OPSWA is run by your Peers, OPSWA PSWs have opportunities to obtain extra training at a discount price, Liability Insurance, discounts at major stores and so much more! For more information on what OPSWA's criteria is please go to membership. OPSWA was developed out of our mother organization PSW Canada(2007), which was created by PSWs as an information station for PSWs and those alike cross our nation. For more information on PSW Canada, please contact info@pswcanada.ca. OPSWA's Mission Statement To continuously strive to improve the professional status of the Personal Support Workers of Ontario through advocacy for excellence and consistency in training, services, working conditions, and value to those we serve. Vision: Standardization of the Personal Support Worker will afford all Ontarians the quality of care which they are entitled too.

One response »

  1. You are so right! This needs to come to the top of the conversation list. This needs to be addressed, We all need to be able to say that we are a Proud PSW – a Personal Support Worker…who is Regulated, Registered, Recognized – such as the RNs and RPNs who come out of Regulated schooling programs and they are Recognized instantly as the “Legitimate” health care personnel that they are.

    We all need to have one voice and I think that PSWCanada is proving to be that forum and that background that will bring us all together into ONE group, ONE honorable recognized family of front line Health Care Professionals that care about their standing in the communities, that care about the clients and residents they serve.

    Keep spreading the word – we are on our way!!!
    Nat

    Reply

Leave a comment