PSW vs Health Care Aid ~ A Common Purpose


Over and over again I hear PSW and HCAs arguing the issue on who is better in this field of work. I ask ” Why is this such an issue”?. It is beyond me. PSWs beginning their career should respect those who are there long before them and learn from them. HCAs should respect PSWs coming into the profession just because they have also chosen this admiral career that the HCA also chose years before.

I have heard from PSWs that they have been told by their instructors that they are better educated than a health care aid. This does not give you the right to act better or disrespect any HCA.  Years of experience as most HCAs have, will always outweigh education in my eyes.  I ask PSWs to listen and learn from these extremely experienced men and women, the mother’s and fathers of the profession.

I ask HCAs to give PSWs coming out of school or in general,  patience and respect. Remember when you first started your career how long it took for you to become the wonderful caregivers you are today.

Both HCAs and PSWs need to focus on the fact that we are all in this profession for one reason. We do have a common purpose, which is caring for our seniors with respect and love. In stead of battling each other on who is the best we need to come together as a team, working towards a common purpose.

THE LOVE OF OUR SENIORS.

 

Kelly McHaffie

Communication Liaison

PSW Canada(2007)

pswtree

About Ontario Personal Support Worker Association (OPSWA)

The Ontario Personal Support Worker Association is the first ever Professional Association for PSWs across our Nation. OPSWA is run by PSWs FOR PSWs and public safety. We understand the difficulties PSWs deal with everyday OPSWA represents thousands of Personal Support Workers across Ontario. Our goal is to make the PSW a profession of choice, not just a stepping stone. As PSWs work with societies must vulnerable, we believe in due diligence where our membership is concerned, our PSWs must meet certain criteria in order to be an OPSWA Registered PSW. All of our PSWs have an annual National Police Check done at NO extra cost to them, plus so much more! Because OPSWA is run by your Peers, OPSWA PSWs have opportunities to obtain extra training at a discount price, Liability Insurance, discounts at major stores and so much more! For more information on what OPSWA's criteria is please go to membership. OPSWA was developed out of our mother organization PSW Canada(2007), which was created by PSWs as an information station for PSWs and those alike cross our nation. For more information on PSW Canada, please contact info@pswcanada.ca. OPSWA's Mission Statement To continuously strive to improve the professional status of the Personal Support Workers of Ontario through advocacy for excellence and consistency in training, services, working conditions, and value to those we serve. Vision: Standardization of the Personal Support Worker will afford all Ontarians the quality of care which they are entitled too.

7 responses »

  1. I have been a HCA for aprox. 20 years. I personally have never heard a PSW say that they are better educated etc., than HCAs. I would have remembered that discussion 😉

    I personally don’t like being called a PSW, simply because it’s not “my title.” I like to say I’m a HCA, because that let’s people know I have experience. I honestly don’t like saying I’m a PSW and that’s simply a pyschological thing. It has nothing to do my views on who’s better than who. I have ALWAYS felt equal with PSWs. IT IS THE SAME THING!

    I dont see why a HCA has to spend money and time to “bridge over” to get “PSW” as a title. I believe it’s currently a 6 month program. I’m pretty sure that it could be shortened and it could cost less. Why the government makes things so complicated, I will never know!

    Hmmmm….I say regulate everyone under another name…ONE name! 😀 Anyway…I digress 🙂

    I can’t believe a teacher would tell a classroom that PSWs are better educated than HCAs

    Bottom line: We are both doing the same thing. We have the same purpose and same goals. To give care, with respect, to our seniors. I believe pride sometimes gets in the way of that. I believe that if we had a team mentality, rather than a “I’m better than X” mentality, there would be a LOT less strife amongst us. Imagine a world where everyone respected eachother and communicated appropriately, with eachother. Ahhhh….how nice 🙂

    Have a great day…and keep fighting the good fight!

    Reply
  2. I just read this article, how great and to the point it is!!!! I have heard the conversations of this very nature and I agree, who cares what your title or your position is, we are all here for the same thing and also agree that experience far outweighs education . I have been in this field for over 10 years, I feel it mostly comes down to something called “common sense”.
    I too feel that we get so caught up in the little things that we sometimes forget the BIG picture in all this, our residents!
    This is the end of the line for them and we should be making it the best possible time we can, but too often we get caught up in the “small stuff” so we forget.
    Lets care for these people as if they were our own gramma’s and grandpa’s…….as we would want someone to care for us one day!!!

    Reply
  3. margarita melo

    I think It is another disgusting money making way for the government!!! I have been a certified healthcare aide since1995!! Now I

    Reply
  4. margarita melo

    I can’t get a job because my healthcare aide program that I paid money for in 1995!! No longer exists!!! Over night I have no job and no credentials… Now they want me to pay again to become a psw!!! I have over 15 years of working exp. and knowledge!! Where do i bridge??? I am so disturbed by what the government has done!!! I have to work at some lower paying job outside my field!! as my healthcare aide certification no longer exits!! This is complete @#%^&*( !!! M Melo

    Reply
    • Hi

      Sorry to hear about your problem with your HCA. We would suggest contacting your local Community College in Continuing education for the bridging course from HCA to PSW. No matter that your course no longer exists, if you still have your certificate it should be recognized for the bridging course

      Good luck
      PSW Canada

      Reply
  5. It’s the same job with a different title. I was a H.C.A. for over 20 years, and the first hired to work as a H.C.A. in my community because of an opportunity to do so. I had worked in 2 different provinces,with geriatrics, the mentally challenged and on psychiatric wards as well. I was responsible for all aspects of personal care, socialization, grooming, shopping, medical appointments, taking clients B.P.’s, T.P.R.s, Vitals, as well as administering meds, suppositories, and fleet and soap suds enemas, accompanying drs. on their rounds, and critical care interventions, and also all regular and incidental charting for each client. Another part of the care giving I was expected to carry out was compassionate (palliative) care, and also basic care and preparing the deceased before families attended the bedside of their loved ones after they passed away.I also had to have C.P.R. training and recerts every year. During my 20+ years experience in working as a H.C.A. it was also mandatory to attend regular training sessions and orientations given by R.N.s, Physicians and Psychiatrists whenever they were offered as ongoing medical updates in many different care aspects. I hold a high level of respect for anyone that works as P.S.W.s and H.C.A.s, in a big way, but in all of the experience and training that I received,(excellent), I might add, It would be totally redundant for me in my opinion, and needless for me to take a course for which i had a lifetime of experience and training in already. NO Dr. Or R.N. would do so either! Or for that matter any other Profession! Strength and Best wishes to all of you!

    Reply
    • Sorry, but one more thought just occurred to me…..When I first began my career as a H.C.A. we were all called Nurses Aids….there wasnt the title of H.C.A. or P.S.W. …ooops

      Reply

Leave a comment